704-342-4357

The path to getting you driver’s license back after you lose it as a result of a DWI conviction or “guilty” plea is called “restoration.” The process to restore your license after a DWI in North Carolina is complicated and involves several steps. Working with an experienced DWI license restoration attorney may be the smoothest way to get your license restored. At Powers McCartan our experienced attorneys can walk you through the restoration process and work toward the goal of an unrestricted license.

The Process

Every case is different, and as a result, your case may or may not follow the steps below. The information is meant to provide a general overview of the DWI license restoration process in North Carolina for a first-time offense.

  • After your arrest your license is taken from you and your license is automatically revoked for 30 days.
  • If you complete a DWI Substance Abuse Assessment within 10 days of your arrest you may pay the restoration fee and receive a driving privilege. Complying with the treatment recommendations provided during the Substance Abuse Assessment before your court appearance may help you and should be discussed with your DWI attorney.
  • At your hearing your attorney can request that the judge grant you a limited driving privilege allowing you to drive for school, work or family purposes. If you are granted a limited driving privilege, it will be good for 365 days.
  • You must complete all of the DWI conviction requirements including payment of fines and fees, class attendance, community service and probation before your license can be restored, and it will not be restored automatically because your revocation period has ended.
  • Finally, you must pay the DMV fees associated with the restoration of your license in order to remove the suspension and obtain your new unrestricted license.

While the steps for a first-time offender may seem straightforward, this is an extremely complicated area of law. Failure to comply with one part of the restoration process can result in a significant delay in receiving your new driver’s license. This means that if your limited driving privilege expires and you do not have your new license in hand, you cannot drive. Being caught driving on a suspended license could result in an extension on the suspension and additional fines. The restoration process becomes even more complicated in situations where the DWI is not a first offense.

The attorneys at Powers McCartan have extensive experience with driver’s license restoration after DWI convictions and can provide you with the guidance you need to feel confident you are on track to receive your unrestricted license at the end of the revocation period. Do not let a missed requirement keep you from getting on with your life and back on the road.

Reach out to the DWI license restoration attorneys at Powers McCartan. We are available to answer your questions 24 hours a day at (704) 342-4357.

Share Button
admin